Oversight Committee

To guide the RARE Registry, the Melanoma Research Alliance created an Oversight Committee comprised of patients and caregivers, as well as a multi-disciplinary group of medical advisors including dermatologists, pathologists, oncologists, scientists, and surgeons. The medical advisors’ research interests span bench research, epidemiology, quality of life research, translational research and clinical trial development.


Co-Principal Investigators

Joan Levy, PhD — Melanoma Research Alliance
Maryam Asgari, MD, MPH —  University of Colorado Anschutz School of Medicine

Scientific & Patient Advisors

Boris Bastian, MD—University of California San Francisco

Trena Brown—Patient Advocate

Elizabeth Buchbinder, MD—Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Chris Carr—Patient Advocate

Richard Carvajal, MD—Columbia University-New York Presbyterian Hospital

Judith Colin—Patient Advocate

Julie Dewey—Patient Advocate

Rachel Fischer, PhD—Melanoma Research Alliance

Marc Hurlbert, PhD—Melanoma Research Alliance

Patricia Janiak—Patient Advocate

Amy Jardon—Patient Advocate

Jason Luke, MD—University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

David Marx—Patient Advocate

Sapna Patel, MD—The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Yevgeniy ‘Eugene’ Semenov, MD, MS—Massachusetts General Hospital

Alex Shoushtari, MD—Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Jonathan Swingle—Patient Advocate

Alfonso Waller, MD—Patient Advocate

Eileen Walther—Patient Advocate

J.B. Ward—Patient Advocate

Janet Yannelli—Patient Advocate

Iwei Yeh, MD, PhD—University of California San Francisco